- Yorktown and Cortlandt - http://yorktown.lohudblogs.com -

Croton-Harmon Hall of Fame

Posted By Robert Marchant On November 28, 2012 @ 5:08 pm In Uncategorized | Comments Disabled


News from Croton-Harmon High School:


Croton-Harmon High School recently inducted two new members into its Hall of Distinguished Graduates. This year’s inductees are Dr. Maryjane Giblin Farr (Class of 1983) and Dr. John Mearsheimer (Class of 1965).


The Hall of Distinguished Graduates was created to recognize the contributions and successes of CHHS graduates who have achieved a level of success in their career and community and can serve as a model for CHHS students. Dr. Farr is a board-certified and published cardiovascular physician. Mr. Mearsheimer is a professor of political science and co-director at the University of Chicago.


“We recognize that all of our graduates have been the beneficiaries of a very proud legacy,” said CHHS Principal Alan Capasso. “Many graduates have made significant contributions to their selected professions, have given of themselves through public service, and have achieved excellence in every other walk of life. Present and future students can draw inspiration from their accomplishments.”


This includes CHHS seniors Brendan Roeschel and Lucy Stockton, who respectively introduced Dr. Farr and Dr. Mearsheimer during the induction ceremony. Brendan and Lucy also led them on a tour of CHHS earlier in the day and served on the Hall of Distinguished Graduates Committee, which was also comprised of Mr. Capasso, Assistant Principal Mark Maxam, CHHS faculty members and parents, and Board of Education President Andrea Furey.


Each inductee spent the day at CHHS visiting classrooms, speaking with select classes and imparting some of their wisdom onto students.


Dr. Maryjane Giblin Farr

After graduating from Barnard College with a degree in philosophy, Dr. Farr attended Columbia College of Physicians and Surgeons and began her medical practice at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical College. She participated in a fellowship in cardiovascular disease and heart failure and transplantation as well as numerous research projects in areas such as cardiopulmonary exercise and advanced heart failure. Dr. Farr currently directs the Heart Failure Program at the Maurice R. and Corinne P. Greenberg Division of Cardiology, associated with Cornell University Hospital, overseeing metabolic testing and therapeutic clinical trials. She is board-certified in internal medicine, cardiovascular medicine, and transthoracic and transesophageal echocardiography and has been published in The New England Journal of Medicine and The Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation.


Dr. John Mearsheimer

After graduating from West Point and serving five years in the U.S. Air Force, Dr. Mearsheimer earned both a master’s and doctorate in international relations from the University of Southern California and Cornell University, respectively. He current serves as the R. Wendell Harrison Distinguished Service Professor of Political Science and the co-director of the Program on International Security at the University of Chicago. He has written extensively about international security issues and international politics in numerous journals, has authored five books, and often serves as a guest commentator on television and radio. Dr. Mearsheimer has also won numerous teaching awards, was selected as a Phi Beta Kappa visiting Scholar and was later elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


A plaque with a photo of each member of the Hall of Distinguished Graduates is on display in a glass encasement in the CHHS lobby near the building’s main entrance. Since 2006, 17 CHHS graduates have been inducted into the Hall. Previous inductees are Guy Adami, Richard Albert, Daniel Botkin, William Dow, Eric Hoffman, Lawrence Jacobs, Jo Ann Jacobsen, Robert Kerr, Frederick Douglass Opie, Tamra Rosanes, Gordon Sheer, Robert Schulze, Geoffrey S. Thompson, Margarent Tuxen Akers and Rachel Whetten.



Photo Caption A: Photo (L-R) Croton-Harmon High School Principal Alan Capasso (far left) and CHHS senior Lucy Stockton congratulate 2012 Hall of Distinguished Graduates inductees John Mearsheimer and Maryjane Giblin Farr with CHHS senior Brendan Roeschel.

Article printed from Yorktown and Cortlandt: http://yorktown.lohudblogs.com

URL to article: http://yorktown.lohudblogs.com/2012/11/28/croton-harmon-hall-of-fame/

URLs in this post:

[1] Image: http://yorktown.lohudblogs.com/files/2012/11/ccrot.jpg

Copyright © 2009 Yorktown/Cortlandt Express. All rights reserved.